Muzeum Górnictwa Węglowego Zabrzu

In 2007 the underground levels of Guido Mine were opened for tourists as an independent cultural institution

Guido Colliery was founded in 1855 by Count Guido Henckel von Donnersmarck, after whom it was named. Coal extraction ceased here in 1928, later the mine was turned into the Experimental Mine M 300. In 2007 the underground levels of the Guido Mine were opened for tourists as an independent cultural institution. Today, in Guido Mine, culture, tourism and entertainment are provided instead of coal seams – on the 170-metre level (exposition of Saint Barbara), 320-metre level (the mining industry in the twentieth century) and 355-metre level (mining shift) plenty of attractions await the tourists; attractions that cannot be seen anywhere else.

The museum attracts 125,000 visitors a year. The City of Zabrze and the Marshall’s office of the Silesian Voivodship are the two organizers and owners of the museum. Funding is provided to the museum by the City of Zabrze, the Marshall’s office of the Silesian Voivodship and the Polish Government.

The museum’s second site is made up of the Main Hereditary Adit and the Queen Louise Adit dating from 1799. The Main Key Hereditary Adit offers a complex of various tourist routes based on 4 km of excavations. Visitors can experience a 550-metre long tunnel accessed by battery–powered boats, three-dimensional productions, the sounds of mining machines and pickaxes reverberating through the galleries, exhibitions about the former methods of coal extraction, starting from the use of the short-wall method, and displays of machines, devices, equipment and tools which were used in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. A special experience is the visit to the cargo port, where coal would be loaded on boats with the use of a special wooden crane.

Part of the adit was opened in June 2016. The second part, which will be accessed with boats, is to be opened in 2017.


Address: 3 Maja 93, 41-800 Zabrze, Poland
Phone: +48 32 271 40 77